« back


Aghul is spoken by less than 20.000 people. It is mainly spoken in the mountainous south of the Dagestan Republic in southern Russia. An insignificant number of speakers live in Azerbaijan.

Aghul belongs to the Lezgian subgroup of the Northeast Caucasian Language family.

The self-designation of the Aghul people is agiul shui.

Main dialects of Aghul are Koshan, Keren, Gekxun, and Agul.

Aghul is one of the 14 official languages of the Dagestan Republic in Russia. It is written with Cyrillic letters.

In Aghul we find a threeway opposition of voiced, voiceless, and glottalised stops and affricates.

The case system of Aghul is very rich because of the great number of locative cases. The noun has about 28 cases. Agul has no noun classes. The morphology of the verb, however, is relatively simple. The verb does not agree with any of its arguments.

Aghul is an ergative language.

« back